Organisational Set Up and Functions Of Enforcement Directorate
Directorate of Enforcement has to detect cases of violation and also perform substantially adjudicatory functions to curb above malpractices.

The Enforcement Directorate, with its Headquarters at New Delhi has seven zonal offices at Bombay, Calcutta, Delhi, Jalandhar, Madras, Ahmedabad and Bangalore. The zonal offices are headed by the Deputy Directors. The Directorate has nine sub-zonal offices at Agra, Srinagar, Jaipur, Varanasi, Trivandrum, Calicut, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Goa, which are headed by the Assistant Directors. The Directorate has also a Unit at Madurai, which is headed by a Chief Enforcement Officer. Besides, there are three Special Directors of Enforcement and one Additional Director of Enforcement.

The main functions of the Directorate are as under
  • To collect and develop intelligence relating to violation of the provisions of Foreign Exchange Regulation Act and while working out the same, depending upon the circumstances of the case:
  • To conduct searches of suspected persons, conveyances and premises for seizing incriminating materials (including Indian and foreign currencies involved) and/or.
  • To enquire into and investigate suspected violations of provisions of the Foreign Exchange Management Act.
  • To adjudicate cases of violations of Foreign Exchange Management Act for levying penalties departmentally and also for confiscating the amounts involved in contravent ions;
  • To realise the penalties imposed in departmental adjudication.